Manitoba Government Announces New Appointments to Manitoba Agricultural Services Corporation Board

The Manitoba government has appointed a new chair, vice-chair and directors to the board of Manitoba Agricultural Services Corporation (MASC), Agriculture Minister Ron Kostyshyn announced yesterday (Tue).

“Agriculture in Manitoba is growing and I am confident that the experience, knowledge and abilities of the individuals appointed to this newly formed board will play an important role in supporting agricultural stakeholders across our province,” said Kostyshyn.

The new chair of the board is John Plohman and the vice-chair is Don Kostesky. Newly appointed directors are Paul Gregory, Mary Johnson, Larry Bohdanovich, Rayna Gleich and Gurjaspal Singh Bala.

Kostyshyn noted these appointments are part of the Manitoba government’s efforts to support a strong agriculture industry as the backbone of the provincial economy.

The board of directors for MASC is responsible to support and encourage a strong and diversified rural economy through a variety of financial services and risk management programs as set out in the Manitoba Agricultural Services Corporation Act. This provincial Crown corporation also administers emergency assistance programs and provides inspection and verification services to the agriculture industry.

Brian Brown and Kristy-Layne Carr will remain as directors for MASC. Brown serves on multiple boards and has been a director since May 2023. Carr owns and operates Rich Lane Farms and has been a director since September 2023.

In making the announcement, Kostyshyn thanked previous board members for their past service to MASC.

(Government of Manitoba news release)

More from