Ukrainian Grain Still Prohibited From Sale in Some EU Countries

The European Commission is extending an arrangement, whereby five of Ukraine’s EU neighbours can restrict imports of Ukrainian grain.

On May 2nd, the EU allowed the five countries — Bulgaria, Hungary, Poland, Romania and Slovakia — to ban domestic sales of Ukrainian wheat, maize, rapeseed and sunflower seeds while allowing transit through them for export elsewhere, including to other EU countries.

Those restrictions, designed to ease excess supply, were due to expire on Monday.

The five countries had sought an extension, complaining cheaper Ukrainian grain was making domestic production unprofitable.

Ukraine lobbied for them to be lifted.

The European Commission says they will be phased out by September 15th.

More from