Four students receive Agriculture Student Scholarship

Four Saskatchewan students have been awarded the Agriculture Student Scholarship to pursue post-secondary education in agriculture.

Caitlyn Spratt from Melfort was awarded $4,000, for her essay on Saskatchewan’s sustainability efforts, which included implementing practices like zero till and GPS technology, and addressing the environmental benefits of cattle grazing on native rangelands.

“I couldn’t believe it, I was completely shocked,” Spratt said of her reaction to receiving the scholarship.

Caitlyn will attend the University of Saskatchewan at the College of Agriculture and Bioresources.

Spratt says she is a part of a 4th generation mixed farm, and has been in 4-H since she was 6-years-old. Calving, she says, is her favourite time of the year.

“The livestock has kind of always been in my blood,” she added.

The interview with Caitlyn can be heard below.

Danielle Dyok from Saskatoon, Katherine Andree from Val Marie and Emery Cholin from Kerrobert were all awarded $2,000 as runners-up for the scholarship.

Danielle and Emery will both be attending USask this fall at the College of Agriculture and Bioresources, while Katherine will attend Olds College in the Agricultural Management Program.

They received their scholarships at the Legislature in Regina.

Agriculture Minister David Marit says it was great to see them, and it goes to show the future of agriculture is in good hands.

“I’m really in awe of the youth we have in this province that are interested in the ag sector, and all different dynamics of it.” Marit said. “I’m very encouraged by the youth that were in the room and their excitement about agriculture.”

Marit also said there were about 39 applicants for the scholarship this year, and over 30 applicants last year.

The interview with David Marit can be heard below.

Funding for the Agriculture Student Scholarship comes from the Sustainable Canadian Agricultural Partnership.

More from