EU Sets Import Restrictions on Ukrainian Ag Commodities

The European Commission has set restrictions until June 5th on imports of Ukrainian wheat, maize, rapeseed and sunflower seed to ease the excess supply of these grains in Bulgaria, Hungary, Poland, Romania and Slovakia.

The EU executive arm said that during that period, Ukrainian wheat, maize, rapeseed and sunflower seed can be sold to any other of country of the 27-nation bloc, except to the five countries, which had complained the cheaper Ukrainian grain was making domestic production unprofitable.

The EU had earlier liberalized all imports from Ukraine to help the country’s efforts to fend off the Russian invasion.

The five countries became transit routes for Ukrainian grain that could not be exported through the country’s Black Sea ports because of the war.

The Commission’s measures also include a support package worth 100 million euros for local farmers in the most affected five EU countries.

More from